History of the Agustin Inn
Our gorgeous bed and breakfast began as a two-story, Victorian-inspired residence built by Bernard Masters between 1899 and 1904. The original L-shape design of the home featured two brick stucco chimneys and a gable roof. Since its original construction, this beautiful home has been transformed into the wonderful historic hotel in St. Augustine it is today. With all the remodels, the goal is always to maintain the integrity and original charm of the house, while still updating the amenities and creating the best experience for our guests. This includes adding a third level and an elevator in recent years.
The History of This Historic Hotel in St. Augustine
Bernard Masters was a wealthy cattleman and businessman who built numerous houses in the North City-section of St. Augustine, as well as on Cuna Street. For many years, his granddaughter occupied the residence. Other notable occupants include Mrs. J.F. Guilmartin, who was the superintendent of the Women’s Exchange, and William W. Haskell, the branch manager of the Jacksonville Journal.
Over the years, the once-vernacular building has been restored to reflect its Spanish and Colonial Revival roots. Most significantly, the roofline was modified to eliminate the overhang of the slopes and under the eves. The home also includes a wooden balcony that overlooks the courtyard and a masonry wall that surrounding our property.